Zomba is a city in southern Malawi, in the Shire Highlands. It is the administrative capital of Zomba District.

It was the capital of first British Central Africa and then Nyasaland before the establishment of the Republic of Malawi in 1964. It was also the first capital of Malawi and remained its capital until 1974, when Lilongwe became the capital. The city is best known for its British colonial architecture and its location at the base of the dramatic Zomba Plateau. Zomba is also the home of Chancellor College of the University of Malawi.

The town's British colonial past is reflected in the architecture of its older buildings and homes. Zomba was once a hub for expatriates in Malawi. Its diverse cultural mix included British tobacco farmers and Dutch, German and American emissaries. The Zomba Gymkhana Club was once the focus for social activity in the expatriate community. However, in recent years, the Club's appearance and reputation have been in decline. The British also established Sir Harry Johnston Primary School.

Chancellor College, the largest of the constituent colleges of the University of Malawi, is located in Zomba. The college has five faculties: Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Social Science and Faculty of Education.

Sir Harry Johnston International School has served the international and local community since the early 1950s. The school consists of a five classroom block with a hall, and separate networked IT suite and library. Within the spacious and beautifully landscaped grounds there is a swimming pool, a seventy metre soccer/games field, basketball court, nursery class play area, a volleyball court, netball field and smaller sized training pitches. The school is centrally located on Kalimbuka Road and offers an internationally adapted UK curriculum. The school has students from a diverse range of nationalities with around half of the students Malawian. The school is non-profit making and is managed by an elected board of governors from the parent community.

About Malawi

Malawi National Name :
Republic of Malawi

National Capital : Lilongwe

Malawi Area :
Approx. 118,484n Sq Km (45,747 Sq. Mi), 0.08% of total

Malawi Population :
16,407,000 in 2013 (0.23% in total)

Ethnicity in Malawi :
32.67% Chewa, 17.6% Lomwe, 20.5% Yao, 11.5% Ngoni, 8.8% Tumbuka, 5.8% Nyanja, 3.6% Sena, 2.1% Tonga, 1.0% Ngonde, 3.5% others(Approx. in 2008)

Malawi Languages :
English (official), Chichewa (official), other languages important regionally.

Religions in Malawi:
Christian 80%, Islam 13%, none 4% (1998)

Currency :
Kwacha (D) (MWK) ,MWK

Time Zone :
UTC+02 (CAT)