Faridabad is district in the state of Haryana, India. It is a major industrial city and population centre. The city was founded in 1607 by Shaikh Farid, treasurer of Jahangir, with the object of protecting the highway which passed through the town. He built a fort, a tank and a mosque which are now in ruins. It also had a sarai, a travelers' lodge, that served as a last stop for travelers to Delhi. Later, it became the headquarters of a pargana which was held in jagir by the Ballabgarh ruler. Faridabad became the 12th district of in Haryana on 15 August 1979.

Faridabad is about 25 Kilometres south of Delhi at 28 25' 16" North and 77 18' 28" East. It is bounded by the National Capital Territory of Delhi on its north, Gurgaon District on the west, and Uttar Pradesh State on its east and south. Delhi-Mathura National Highway-2 (Shershah Suri Marg) passes through the centre of the district. The city has many Railway Stations on the Delhi-Mathura double track broad-gauge line of the North Central Railway.

Badkhal Lake tourist complex, Suraj Kund Tourist Complex, Aravalli Golf Club, Raja Nahar Singh Palace and Dabchick are the famous tourist spots.

Faridabad is located at [show location on an interactive map] 2826 N 7719 E. It has an average elevation of 198 metres (649 ft).
As of 2001 India census, Faridabad had a population of 1,054,981. Males constitute 55% of the population and females 45%. Faridabad has an average literacy rate of 69%, higher than the national average of 59.5%: male literacy is 75%, and female literacy is 60%. In Faridabad, 15% of the population is under 6 years of age.

People of Faridabad share different ethnicities depending on when they or their ancestors moved to the area. Old Faridabad, as the northern and oldest part of the city is known, is home to people whose families might have been living in the area for centuries. The ancestry of people is mostly baniya ,Jat, Gujars and people from the state of Uttar Pradesh and villages in Haryana.

Modern Vidya Niketan
Apeejay Sr. Sec. School
Carmel Convent School
DAV Public School
Delhi Public School
Eicher School
G.D.Goenka world School
Grand Columbus Public School
K.L.Mehta Dayanand Pub. School
Manav Rachna International School
Rawal Public School
Shemford Schools
St. Anthony School
B.N. Public School.

Aggarwal College,
D.A.V. College,
Govt. College,
K.L.M Dayanand College for Women,
Sarswati Mahila College

YMCA Instt.of Engineering,
B.S.Anangpuria Inst. of Tech & Mgt
Echolon Institute of Engineering,
Food Craft Institute,
DAV Institute of Management,
Govt. Ploytechnic,
Govt. Polytechnic for Women,
Career Institute of Tech. & Management,
Manav Rachna College of Engineering,
Lingya's Inst of Tech & Mgt,
Al-Falah School of Engg & Tech.

Government Officer's Institutes/Training Centres:

Cement Research Institute,
National Institute of Finance Management (M/o Finance),
National Academy of Central Excise, Custom & Narcotics,
Power Engineers Training Institute,
Central Fertilizer Quality Control & Training Institute,
Regional Directorate of Apprentice & Training(RDAT),
Wireless Training Centre (Cabinet Secretarite),
Oriental Insurance Staff Training College

About India

India National Name :
Republic of India

National Capital : New Delhi

India Area :
Approx. 3,287,263n Sq Km (1,269,219 Sq. Mi), 2.1%-2.3% of total

India Population :
1,293,057,000 in 2016 (17.26 in total)

Ethnicity in India :
Indo-Aryan 72%, Dravidian 25%, Mongoloid and other 3% (2000)

India Languages :
English enjoys associate status but is the most important language for national, political, and commercial communication; Hindi is the national language and primary tongue of 30% of the people; there are 14 other official languages: Bengali, Telugu, Marathi, Tamil, Urdu, Gujarati, Malayalam, Kannada, Oriya, Punjabi, Assamese, Kashmiri, Sindhi, and Sanskrit; Hindustani is a popular variant of Hindi/Urdu spoken widely throughout northern India but is not an official language.

Religions in India:
Hindu 81%, Islam 13%, Christian 2%, Sikh 2% (2001)

Currency :
Indian rupee (₹) (INR) ,INR

Time Zone :
UTC+05:30 (IST)

INDIA National Animal :

INDIA National Bird :

INDIA National Flower :

INDIA National Game :
Field Hockey